Welcome Guest, please login or register.
Username:
Password:

News: Welcome to Hostpapa Forums!
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Topic Tools  
Read
September 06, 2011, 02:37:19 AM
Ooza
Newbie
*
Posts: 2



I'm having major issues with this and it's causing my IP to be blocked on a reqular basis and it's extremely frustrating as I need to do major construction to my site and it doesn't help being constantly blocked!

It does not matter what email program I use, I've tried Outlook, Windows Live & Thunderbird. It also doesn't matter if I use Hostpapa's server settings or my own sites server settings it keeps showing that it's not encrypted and the security certificate could not be verified.

Help, what do I do???

everytime I talk to support about this they keep skirting around it and not giving me a direct answer
Logged
 

Read
September 06, 2011, 10:56:08 AM
Inigo Montoya
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 85



This is because you are trying to use SSL ports for email and hostpapa only offers a self signed security certificate. Because it is self signed it isn't verified and will always give you a warning about this every time you start your email program. Your only options are to either use standard ports ( incoming 110, outgoing 587)or accept the warning each time you start your email client. I hope this helps.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2012, 06:57:57 PM by InigoMontoya » Logged
 

Read
September 06, 2011, 07:05:21 PM
Ooza
Newbie
*
Posts: 2



Thanks. I'm not sure what was so hard about that for tech support to answer. I've asked them several times and not once did they say this to me!
Logged
 

Read
January 19, 2012, 05:06:01 PM
jarmi
Newbie
*
Posts: 1



This is because you are trying to use SSL ports for email and hostpapa only offers a self signed security certificate. Because it is self signed it isn't verified and will always give you a warning about this every time you start your email program. Your only options are to either use standard ports ( incoming 25, outgoing 587)or accept the warning each time you start your email client. I hope this helps.
i just want to thank you as i have had this problem through out my company at some computers some of the time.  today i am in a different location and the settings that have worked for years didn't work here and i was hitting critical panic because i couldn't send AT ALL.  i tried you fix even though i wasn't having a certificate error per se and bingo i can now send all my email.  thank you thank you and thank you.
Logged
 

Read
February 27, 2012, 02:39:57 PM
Laurna
Newbie
*
Posts: 3



This topic may be related to a problem I am having. I hope it's ok to use this thread.

About two weeks ago, I answered what appeared to be a legitimate request (I looked at the related website, which was impersonal but believable) on my blog (northernlightbooks.ca/MentalHealththroughMusic) to this address: 'MoatsEmswiler70@gnumail.com'. Then, I sent an email to a friend I contact daily at this address (name withheld) [friend]@hotmail.ca. Now, my emails to my friend sometimes (and why only sometimes?) are being kicked back to me with this message:

The original message was received at Mon, 27 Feb 2012 04:23:32 GMT from eld.dhcp.reztel.net [66.207.105.72] (may be forged)

   ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors ----- <[friend]@hotmail.ca>
    (reason: 550 SC-001 (BAY0-MC2-F47) Unfortunately, messages from 66.175.40.165 weren't sent. Please contact yo...ock list. You can also refer your provider to http://mail.live.com/mail/troubleshooting.aspx#errors.)

   ----- Transcript of session follows ----- ... while talking to mx4.hotmail.com.:
>>> MAIL From:<rtallman@reztel.net> SIZE=64358
<<< 550 SC-001 (BAY0-MC2-F47) Unfortunately, messages from 66.175.40.165 weren't sent. Please contact your Internet service provider since part of their network is on our block list. You can also refer your provider to http://mail.live.com/mail/troubleshooting.aspx#errors.
554 5.0.0 Service unavailable

I contacted my high-speed server Reztel and they say this has nothing to do with them. My email to my friend has nothing to do with my WordPress blog hosted by HostPapa. How has what must have been a spam false "inquiry" to which I responded (without receiving any kind of answer) become entangled with my other email?

 Since I started using Reztel this past November, I have occasionally received the message about "forgery,"
which I do not understand. What part of the system is broken?

My past experience with HP  Roll Eyes has been explained in some of your other posts. Your service at this site should be rewarded!  Smiley
Thanks,
Laurna
Logged
 

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.net